The Toowoomba Photographic Society has a rich history and is one of the oldest photographic societies in Australia, established on May 23, 1905. Our goal is to promote, improve, share, and enjoy photography in Toowoomba and the surrounding district, offering a range of services specifically designed to improve photographic skills in a friendly social atmosphere.

Membership is open to everyone, regardless of whether you are a beginner, an amateur, or a professional photographer. We hold monthly competition meetings on the second Tuesday of each month at 7:00 pm at DeMolay House, 90 Margaret Street, opposite Queens Park. Members are encouraged to submit their images, including prints, and digital images. The images are judged by experienced photographers as part of our annual Aggregate Points competition, with helpful feedback provided to entrants.

During the intermission, members are invited to discuss photography with others. We also hold a monthly photographic field day with members and occasionally have practical nights, such as portrait workshops or demonstrations of photographic techniques. We also hold regular Zoom sessions on photography/post-processing with our members and guest speakers. Additionally, we provide judges for photography competitions and participate in many local events.

It’s essential to note that owning the latest digital SLR camera is not a requirement for membership. What’s important is the end result, not the equipment used. So, come and join our community of photographers in the Toowoomba area.

Our monthly meeting schedule is as follows:

First TuesdayMicroSkill Session (Zoom)
Second TuesdayCompetition Night – (DeMolay & Zoom)
Third TuesdayMicroSkill Session (Zoom)
Fourth TuesdayImage Review (Zoom) or Guest Speaker (location to be advised)
Fifth TuesdayNo meeting

The details of our field days and Zoom sessions are e-mailed to members via a post on our website. You can also see our planned outings on the website calendar at


Toowoomba Photographic Society Inc., PO Box 339, Toowoomba Qld 4350
Email links (click link to send an e-mail):


PresidentGraham Harris
Vice-PresidentStewart Dorman
SecretaryBruce Tame
TreasurerCheryl Bellette
Members RepresentativeJohn Stewart
Membership ManagerJane Lobegeier
Webmaster / IT managerGrant Phillips